fbpx

Author K.L. Cook

July 17, 2012

Listen in as Terry Price and Carolyn Flynn visited with author, professor and raconteur, K. L. Cook and talked about his books, his philosophies on writing and the writing life.

K. L. Cook is the author of three award-winning books of fiction. His most recent book, Love Songs for the Quarantined (Willow Springs Editions 2011), a collection of thematically linked stories, won The Spokane Prize for Short Fiction. His novel, The Girl from Charnelle (William Morrow 2006/Harper Perennial 2007), won The Willa Award for Contemporary Fiction and was named a Southwest Book of the Year and an Editor’s Choice selection from the Historical Novel Society, among other honors. Cook’s first book, Last Call (Nebraska 2004), a short story cycle chronicling three decades in the lives of a West Texas family, won the inaugural Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Fiction.

He teaches creative writing and literature at Prescott College, where he has served as the Coordinator of the Arts & Letters Program and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. Since 2004, he has been a member of the graduate faculty of Spalding University’s brief-residency MFA in Writing Program.

He has also taught, as a visiting writer, at St. Lawrence University, College of Charleston, University of Oklahoma’s OSLEP Program, and Our Lady of the Lake University. He regularly gives readings, workshops, lectures, and seminars at colleges, universities, and literary organizations around the country and currently serves on the Advisory Board of the Prairie Schooner Book Prizes and from 2009-2011 was a judge for The Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction.

About the Free Conference Call for Writers: Crafting the Writing Life

This is a series of free telephone conference calls with Carolyn Flynn and Terry Price and colleagues about finding your true north, taking time to find your bearings and then heading in that direction to which you were called, to which you are destined. The calls are thirty minutes in length and you can choose whether to participate or not! Just sit, listen, meditate and make notes if you feel like it.

Calls are Tuesdays at 10 a.m. Central time (11 a.m. Eastern, 9 a.m. Mountain and 8 a.m. Pacific)

How to join in? Just before or at 10 a.m. central dial in at:

1-626-677-3000

When prompted, enter participant access code:

1776137

Your call is muted until you press *6 after which you will be unmuted and can ask your question or make a comment.

Although the call is free, your own long distance charge, if any, will apply for those calling outside of the 626 area code.

 

Spots are limited and participants will be allowed on a first come, first serve basis. The call is being recorded and we will post a link afterwards that will allow you to listen if it’s not convenient to join in live.

 

Best,

Carolyn and Terry

 

Carolyn Flynn

Words and Images

www.carolynflynn.com

 

Terry Price

Finding True North

www.terryprice.net

Last 5 posts in Free Conference Calls for Writers

For the Written - Join the Story Catalyst mailing list

Come out of the lonely village of the UnWritten and Live the Life Written. Stay up to date on the events, webinars, practical toolkits and writing inspirations at The Story Catalyst.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This